Skip to content
23/04/2013 / thebutterflyexperience

27 Weeks Pregnant with Twins

20130423-192442.jpg

And there’s the proof at my 12 week scan. (Why do they always look like aliens at this stage?)
Came as quite a shock to me too let me tell you!

Even through I had an odd feeling thought the pregnancy, as if I felt more connected to the whole twinage thing.

I even asked the sonographer during the scan if it was twins. She laughed and said she hadn’t said anything yet!
Bizarre…

So I shall have 4 children altogether. To many of you this may seem like a small family and to many who I have told in RL I am greeted with stunned faces who know that it would be just too much for them.

For me I was initially over the moon, delirious with happiness and excitement.

This lasted about a week, and then reality set in…

How the hell would I cope?

No family nearby to help, friends yes however everyone has their own family to look after and I can not burden them with my own struggles.

R had started just started school and P had started preschool both in September which was amazing and I felt like a normal human being again. ( Who knew being a SAHM would be so demanding hey?!)

I did want another child. I most definitely did not feel ‘done’ with 2 children. So another pregnancy was always on the cards it was just a matter of when.

After the initial excitement had calmed I started to panic.

What if there was a problem with the babies?
How could I look after 4 children?
How would I cope with the sleep deprivation?
What about my older children? How would it effect them?
What the hell was my body going to turn into? (Have you seen a pregnant twin ladies bump in 3rd trimester?!)
What about my independence?
The cost?
My business?
How would people react?

It was all just going round and round in my head.

With my girls pregnancies I found there was vast amount if information on normal pregnancies and births but for twins not so much.

I’m an info junkie. If I need to know something I go and find out. Not the case this time. This really screwed with my head. It made me feel mentally out of control.

I have also found that Midwifes are not so clued up either as I guess they don’t come across multiple pregnancies very often.

This pregnancy has also been much harder than my others due to it being twins.

The all day sickness lasting until 19 weeks (yeah that was fun), the sheer exhaustion, the psychological drain and the physical pains.

I’ve also had to put on hold much of my jewellery business as I just couldn’t cope. That has been tough as I miss it so much.

I know I am very lucky to be having twins and it is an amazing blessing.

But I also now know its no walk in the park.

One thing I’m great full for is the additional support I have been receiving from maternity support units. Extra scans and extra appointments as multiple pregnancies and births are considered to be of higher risk than singletons.

My next scan is at the end of this week and I’m quite excited to be seeing the babies. I get so much comfort from knowing they are ok and it helps me to bond with them.

Next scan pic will be of the babies at 28 weeks. I shall post a pic and if I’m feeling brave enough maybe even a bump pic ;)

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Charlotte / Apr 24 2013 6:00 pm

    Congratulations! It’s natural to panic but I’m sure you’ll be fine. How exciting! x

    • thebutterflyexperience / Apr 24 2013 6:06 pm

      Thank you :) x

  2. Jaime Oliver / Apr 24 2013 7:52 pm

    Massive congratulations!! I am a twin and i have have no idea how my mum did it however she said she found 2 easier than one since we occupied each other! … massive hugs x

    • thebutterflyexperience / Apr 24 2013 7:58 pm

      Oh wow! I love meeting adult twins, who usually only come out once I tell them I’m expecting them ;)

      I do hope they’ll be close. I’m sure they will be :)

  3. Sonia / Apr 24 2013 8:23 pm

    Very exciting! Can’t wait to follow their journey into the world x

    • thebutterflyexperience / Apr 24 2013 8:44 pm

      Thanks :)
      I think I’m now over a lot of the fear of something going wrong hence feeling comfortable enough to blog about it.

  4. louisejedwards / Apr 26 2013 9:02 pm

    What a wonderful surprise! Look forward to seeing your bump pic xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

