Skip to content
17/05/2013 / thebutterflyexperience

31 Weeks Pregnant with Twins

20130517-094128.jpg

Whoo hoo 7 more weeks to go until the they arrive!

All is going well at last scan they are both over 3.3lbs a good weight I’m told, and have both flipped to breach position.

Naughty babies!

Not that it really matters as I’m having an elected c-section with them anyway.

I’m feeling excited and have started to pack my hospital bag deciding on taking one huge suitcase that will house all our bits.

My fatigue and pains have gone up a notch this week where by I’ve had a few days this week spent mainly in bed asleep during the day. I’m attributing this to the babies having a growth spurt as my iron levels are still fine.

I also had a few days whilst prepping the Big Girls for the school run of scary breathlessness and my eye sight Becoming blurry. Midwifes seemed to think it was down to fatigue and doing to much. Hence me then spending most of those days in bed asleep.

My appetite has strangely disappeared as with the Big Girl pregnancies I was eating like there was a bottomless pit in 3rd Trimester, with the twins I’m having to remind myself to eat. Very odd for me.

We had a special Twin & Multiple dedicated Anti-Natal class at the weekend at our chosen birth hospital which was extremely informative covering many aspects of Twin births from how they could sleep sharing a cot together to how Twins are more likely to arrive Pre-Term and the many different scenarios of care involved if that case did occur.

20130517-062725.jpg

20130517-063511.jpg

20130517-063533.jpg

A midwife who was a Twin Mother herself took the class and had invited a guest from our local Multiples Baby & Toddler Club (for life after Twin arrival) was kind enough to bring in one of her twin children (the other refused to come).

She was wonderfully informative on life after Twin arrival and spoke of her own coping strategies if tandem breast feeding (yikes!) and how to cope with having an older child to look after too.

Speaking to her gave me comfort and inspiration in knowing that others had walked this path and had survived. And if they could, so could I.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. julie rose / Sep 3 2013 9:23 pm

    A big congrats on your babies!! I haven’t seen your posts pop up in my inbox for ages. Hope you are keeping well and all is good in your world. Julie Rose xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

