Skip to content
16/03/2011 / butterflyexperience

Survival Guide for a SAHM

Today we are having one of those days.

We planned to visit friends with lunch thrown in until this morning husband declared that he needed the car..

I thought fine we could go out for a walk instead, untill I realised he’d taken the pushchair with him.

So R is bored and in a bad mood, P thought it would be a good idea to start her day at 5:30am and not eat any breakfast so is clingy and wants a breastfeed every 5 minutes, and all I want to do run off down the pub.

Normally we are very good at having things to do and todays outcome as got me thinking how on earth am I supposed make this SAHM lark work, and have come up with the Survival Guide for a SAHM.

1) Routine: Stick to a daily routine of what time you and the family get up by, when you all get dressed, what time meals are eaten and when bed time is.  Make sure all the family know what the routine is and also stick by it.  This ensures that your family basics are taken care of.

2) Plan the Week: On a Sunday night make a plan for the week to what you will all be doing, whether it be visiting friends on a Wednesday morning, arranging a trip to the park, baking cakes or arts and crafts at home.  This can stop you feeling like everyday is groundhog day and gets you seeing people instead of living like hermits.

3) Get out of the House: Looking at the same four walls day in and day out can leave you feeling claustrophobic and isolated.

4) Make Mummy Friends: Getting to know other Mums can be real life saver.  Often only mum friends with similar aged children to you can understand what you’re going through and can offer an ear to bend and a shoulder to cry on.  Other Mums are also great at letting you know at whats going on in your area.

5) You Time: I think this is the most important of them all.  Without it you can be left feeling exhausted and demoralised.  Make sure your get some!

So how do you make it work as a SAHM?

Oh and did I mention the TV is broken…

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. cathy@nurturestore / Mar 16 2011 12:12 pm

    Sorry to hear you’re having one of those days! I agree with your tips – having a couple of mum friends I can call on for a coffee really helps me and I find getting outside works really well to perk up grouchy kids. We also love putting some disco music on and dancing round the kitchen to cheer everyone up!

    • butterflyexperience / Mar 16 2011 12:38 pm

      Cathy I love your idea of putting on some music to cheer everyone up, normaly the site of me shaking my bum around is guaranteed to have them in hysterics!

  2. Average Jo / Mar 16 2011 9:11 pm

    I suggested someone dance around the kitchen to their favourite music on Mumsnet earlier today (seems that a lot of us enjoy doing that…at least in the privacy of our own homes anyway, and i only do so with my children,would never infront of my husband,he’d literally die laughing ! haha).
    Totally agree about the routine, my kids have the same breakfast and bedtime routine every day, to the point that it no longer occurs to them to even try and quibble with it, it definately helps. Getting out of the house is a great one too, i can’t wait for the summer, we’ll be picnicing lots with footballs and tennis rackets etc 🙂

    • butterflyexperience / Mar 17 2011 7:37 am

      Good to hear another routine advocate sometimes I feel like such a dictator, but I know it works!
      I’ m also looking forward to summer the longer warmer days spent playing at the park. Makes me smile to just think of it 🙂

  3. Circus Queen / Mar 18 2011 4:43 pm

    I’m realising how true this is. You need to commit to planning the week and getting out of the house to survive the isolation of early motherhood. My husband says I’ll probably have no problem transitioning since, as a writer, I spend lots of my time alone anyway. But what I explained to him is that I only survive now because I often take my work out of the house, which is something I may feel less inclined to do when the baby arrives. I’ll have to force myself to keep getting out.

    • butterflyexperience / Mar 23 2011 5:44 pm

      I think routine and planning may work really well in your situation as I can imagine keeping a balance between work and play difficult when you work from home.
      Good luck with the little ones arrival!
      x

  4. writeonmum / Mar 22 2011 2:10 pm

    I enjoyed reading your post – it took me back to when my 3 were small. I used to love the Summer days when me and my mummy mates would bundle scooters, bikes and buggies into the back of my old jeep along with a gaggle of kids and head off to pastures green. Now, with the kids being 16, 15 and 11, I’m looking forward to down-sizing – still going to the park with mummy mates but instead of all the kids and wheels, we will be taking a chilled bottle of Cava and some strawberries. Time for new memories!

    • butterflyexperience / Mar 23 2011 5:46 pm

      Thank you 🙂
      Becomming a Mum can be a great time to make some new friends with shared experiences it’s easy to stay friends.
      And sharing a drink sounds wonderful!

  5. Christine / Mar 23 2011 2:46 pm

    Hi

    It is hard when you have those days, great advice though. I work from home and find it hard to balance both things out together, but we live and learn, some days are good, others are harder! But the good days always make up for the stressful ones.

    Christine x

    • butterflyexperience / Mar 23 2011 5:50 pm

      I think balance is key, it can be tiresome to be chasing family equilibrium but when it works I find everyone is happier.

Leave a Reply

