Skip to content
28/06/2011 / butterflyexperience

Life with Young Children…

is often interesting, never dull, mostly fun and also extremely frustrating.

There so many things I want to do, places to go, people to meet and photos to take 🙂

However I often find stuck in a cycle of exhaustion, breast feeds, bum wipes, taming tantrums, nursing fevers, cooking and cleaning and creating social life’s for my daughters.  I understand that this is what modern-day motherhood is like and except it happily for I enjoy my children more than anything and would never be without them.

What I truly find the hardest part of it all is compromising my own personal aspirations.

Take the last two mornings I have planned to hit the gym and train for my 5k race, however because of the spell of hot weather we have neither child has slept well at all waking 3-4 times a night each taking half an hour to settle each time.  So I’m knackered and do not have the energy to work out and then take care of the children for the rest of the day without having some sort of breakdown.

Also I need to get my Jewellery off the ground but I’m finding it hard to juggle that with family life.

It’s all soooo frustrating.

Anyone with any tips on how to have a life with a 3 year old and 1 year old, answers on a post card please…

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Average Jo / Jun 28 2011 2:05 pm

    Oh yes, answer’s on a postcard because i’d love to read some too 🙂 I have pretty much shelved all of my aspirations (shelved not binned though because i haven’t given up hope of achieving them one day…yet) but then i did chose to have 6 children i guess lol.
    I have found an hour a week for my tennis though at least.
    You have my empathy, i had to give up a big part of my voluntary work this year, just because it was no longer viable with all the appointments that go on with Paige and Owen, and having a toddler and baby at home too. It was my ‘escape’ though so i was really upset.
    It is so difficult and sooo frustrating sometimes, i don’t know how you do your jewellery too, it can’t be easy, hope you find some way of creating a little more time for yourself and the things you need to do xx

    • butterflyexperience / Jun 28 2011 3:57 pm

      Hi Jo, I’m glad your able to fit in some me time with tennis lessons, did you find a running buddy in the end?
      Shame you had to stop your voluntary work must have made such a difference to your week.
      Keep your aspirations close to you as there will be a time to devot yourself to them, at the min our little ones need us 🙂 xx

  2. Average Jo / Jun 28 2011 2:22 pm

    Very cute pic by the way :-), it hadn’t loaded when i first read your post x

    • butterflyexperience / Jun 28 2011 3:57 pm

      Thanks 🙂
      They are cheeky little things!

  3. Average Jo / Jun 29 2011 8:51 pm

    Hi, just saw your reply.
    I didn’t find a running buddy unfortunately. I can only really get out after 7pm (because i have to get Paige ready for bed, give her medication etc) and for the only friend i could go with that time of day doesn’t suit her 😦
    I don’t actually know many people where i live as since i moved here my life has revolved around hospital appointments. My 12 year old offered to come with me bless her,i think she’d get fed up after 5 minutes but we might give it a go and see.
    Yes, i definately haven’t got rid of my aspirations yet, just put them on the backburner until the little ones aren’t so little anymore 🙂 xx

  4. mum of all trades / Jun 30 2011 5:30 pm

    Just having a good read through your posts. Really like your blog, I will be back!

Leave a Reply

