Skip to content
03/07/2011 / butterflyexperience

Baby, please let me Sleep!

Well Toddler really now that P is 13 months.

Anyway, P had her MMR jab the week before and since then has not been herself. Feverish, wingy and very clingy.

This is combined with the spell of hot weather and her top 2 molar teeth cutting, her sleep is some what effected.

Each night P has woken 4 times only settling for a breast feed and not going back into her cot.

The whole family is sleep deprived. Hubby is a walking zombie finding days at work difficult to get through and R is struggling with tantrums due to being over tired (they both share a room) from P waking her in the night and early morning.

Me I have had enough, but I don’t know what to do. I rock her, breastfeed her, let her cry, give her Calpol, nothing seems to be working.

I have taken her to he doctors about her fever and was told it’s all due to the MMR jab she had and all is normal.

I can cope with soothing P during the day but I fall apart when I’m sleep deprived.

Fingers crossed for a good nights sleep for everyone.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Musingsofamum / Jul 4 2011 7:01 pm

    Poor thing, mmr can be a real problem vaccine, and they do get a few fevers afterwards, normally at one week then 3 week post vaccine.Plenty of cuddles, lashings of paracetamol and nurofen should do the trick! Good luck and hope P feels much better soon. a friend of mine had the mmr and oter vaccines given 2 weeks apart to minimise the vaccine load which can sometimes work. Hoe you get some sleep soon.

    • butterflyexperience / Jul 5 2011 6:03 pm

      Hi, Shocked at having fever 3 weeks post vacine. I was told that she may get a fever 7-10 days after. I was also not aware that the vacines can be given apart. I guess they want you in and out quick to minimise costs.
      Have to say she has been better today, still clingy but no fever which is a huge relief.

      x

  2. Average Jo / Jul 4 2011 7:35 pm

    Sleep deprivation is torture, really feel for you.
    Keeping my finger’s crossed you get a good nights sleep soon.
    Just read your other lovely post about re creating childhood memories with your own children. I try to do that with mine when i can too, a camping trip is next on our agenda 🙂 xx

    • butterflyexperience / Jul 5 2011 6:04 pm

      Hi Jo,
      Camping how exciting! I have heard such wonderful stories of enjoyable camping trips I’m really keen to take family on one. No idea whats needed but I’m determined that either this year or next we are off the the west country on one!

      x

  3. Michelle / Jul 4 2011 11:12 pm

    Oh, I feel for you… mine didn’t sleep through till almost 3… sometimes waking up three or four times a night. Don’t really have any advice, other than a hug 😦 Hope things get better for you soon… cheers!!

    • butterflyexperience / Jul 5 2011 6:05 pm

      Till 3??
      That sounds like my idea of hell! How on earth did you cope?
      Thanks for the hug though 🙂
      x

Leave a Reply

