Skip to content
13/09/2011 / butterflyexperience

What makes a great Mum?

I’ve been reading a celeb website this evening and not too impressed with the statements of ‘Wow celeb x is such a great Mom for taking 3 week old Pearl-Blue to to the fair with the nanny…’

I’m not one for normally judging others parenting but surely that’s a bit lazy, right?

So got me thinking what DOES make a great Mum? Here’s a list of my great Mum attributes:

• Someone who is exhausted at the end of the day from trying to ensure the kids of eaten home cooked healthy food for them only to refuse it, feed it to the dog or throw the contents of their plate across the table

•Someone who is desperate for alone time with the other half in the evening has to surrender to the 3 year old bed sharing with them because they don’t want to sleep on their own

•Someone who tries to make every day a fun day either with crafts, games or planning play dates

•Someone who worries about their Childs happiness and tries to instil manners and courtesy into them so thy grow to be well rounded person

•Someone who does this all day and everyday

That someone is me.

What do you think makes a good Mum?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Average Jo / Sep 14 2011 8:44 am

    You are so right.
    I read those comment’s about celeb Mums and often role my eyes.
    Also i think you’re spot on about what makes a good Mum and the last point is a definite, it’s Mum’s who do all of this all day every day.
    I am very conscious of the fact that when the children grow in to adults they will be filled with memories of the childhood i’ve given them and they will tell me where they feel i got it right but also where i might have failed them. I always keep that in mind and try to do my very best so they grow up in to happy well rounded adults and feeling that although i may have got it wrong sometimes (because i’m only human)that at least i did always try my best to do my very best by them.

    • butterflyexperience / Sep 14 2011 8:50 am

      Thats what motivates me too Jo that my children as adults look back in their childhood and have wonderful memories and inspire them to be good parents themselves.

      It is the day in day out all day every day that makes us great mums and yes we get things wrong but do our best every day

  2. garmin 1490t / Sep 29 2011 10:14 pm

    Such a well written post.. Thnkx for sharing this post!

Leave a Reply

