Skip to content
19/09/2011 / butterflyexperience

Princes Trust Panel day drama

Oh dear Lord, what a day…

Everything’s done, all prepared, I know my presentation like the the back of my hand.

Childcare arranged.

Timing organised so I arrive 15 minutes early to create a good impression and have a quick chat with my mentor before I face the panel.

What I did not account for was a car tyre puncture.

Honestly I thought it was all over, that I had missed my big chance. This was the one and only time to meet the panel before funding for my area is cut. So it is vital I make this meeting otherwise the past 9 months work would be down the drain and I would have serious egg on my face.

I just couldn’t believe it. Couldn’t believe that I had come this far to have a sodding puncture come in between my dream.

We check the boot for a spare but none! (hubby was with me as I was dropping off the baby to him and he was the one that noticed the puncture)
We tried the puncture repair kit but the puncture was too deep to for it make a difference.
I had no cash on me to catch a cab nor could either of us get any out as the baby has lost 2 of my bank cards and 3 of her Dad’s.

A last ditch attempt is made when I phone the princes trust’s office and plead my case.

“Any chance of lift”

They happily oblige.

Hurrah! I’m saved!
I make it half an hour late to my original meeting to which I am full of apology. They are kind and understanding and the meeting goes ahead as normal.

I find out tomorrow if I receive funding.

Who would have thought a puncture could cause so much drama?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Average Jo / Sep 19 2011 7:43 pm

    Wow, finger’s crossed, although sure you won’t need them ๐Ÿ™‚

    But…omg, what timing for a puncture !!! So pleased you got there and the meeting went well.
    Look forward to hearing the good news tomorrow, very exciting ๐Ÿ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

