Skip to content
26/04/2013 / thebutterflyexperience

28 Weeks Pregnant with Twins

20130427-060052.jpg

So we have hit the 10 week ‘left’ mark, hurrah!!

I finally feel that I actually have babies in me who in 10 weeks I shall see and hold instead of feeling like I’m on some endless painful rollercoaster ride.

28 week growth scan went well yesterday. They are each lying transverse in opposite directions giving explanation to why I feel scrapes against my pelvis bones and boney bits sticking out where they do.

The top baby definitely feels more active than the bottom baby and I wonder if this is a warning that this baby will be the dominate one (am I wrong to start labelling them already?).

Oh and guesstimated weights are Twin A is 2.8lbs and Twin B is 2.5lbs.

Such a relief that they are doing well. My consultant thinks that they could reach 7lb if they go all the way. Ekkk!!

To give you some idea of how big the bump is at 28 weeks it’s measuring as 36 week bump would.

28 Weeks with Twins and already bursting out of maternity clothes

20130427-103000.jpg

No Scan pic today 😦 Sonographer felt she was unable to take anything decent due to their position at the time and I became increasingly uncomfortable on my back sqweeked a feeble ‘ok’.

So instead I’ve added a picture showing a pregnant twin belly at 28 weeks.

As this pregnancy progresses I have become less mobile due to back, stomach and pelvis pain due to the sheer heaviness and size of bump. So my consultant
(who is utterly amazing) has prescribed me codeine and recommend that I also keep up with paracetamol to keep as much of my normal life going as possible for as long as possible.

Guidelines in the U.K recommend that Twin pregnancies go no further than 38 weeks due to possible complications, and as my previous 2 births were Emergency C-Sections I have been strongly advised to make this Twin birth an Elected C-Section.

When I first found out I was pregnant I assumed it was a normal singleton pregnant and how I delighted in the that I would get to have my much wanted VBAC (vaginal birth after c-section).

This dream went out the window when we discovered it was Twins!

Anyway as we are going down the planned route of an elected c-section I have been given a delivery date for 38 weeks.

How odd to know when your child will enter the World?!

As so much is being known I’ve decided to keep the date private and to announce the birth to the World as a normal delivery would. That’s if they stay inside for the while duration.

Statistics state that 50% of multiples are born pre-term (before 37 weeks).

Perhaps their arrival may still be made with an air of mystery behind it…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Susan Dietrich / May 1 2013 8:06 am

    I was pregnant with twins (my beautiful girls) 2 years ago and they decided to make their entrance right at the end of my 36th week of pregnancy. Although it hadn’t gone exactly as planned, I was so happy to have them. I wish you the best of luck!

  2. taiba / Mar 4 2014 5:55 am

    I am exactly the same as you are.. 28 weeks pregnant with twins 🙂

Leave a Reply

